i’m packing my bags. next destination: the world

“TRAVEL IS ABOUT THE GORGEOUS FEELING OF TEETERING IN THE UNKNOWN.” – Anthony Bourdain

When I was 15, my parents and I took a trip to Europe, my first trip abroad since moving to the U.S. as a baby. My mom and I spent the entire flight to Paris giggling as she made up stories about our fellow passengers. We spent that trip buying touristy knick knacks in Paris and eating gelato in Venice. Ten years later, while she recovered from her bone marrow transplant, we planned trips to the Scottish Highlands, to cafes lining the Bosphorus in Istanbul and remote beaches down south. 

My mom dreamed of seeing the world. She also dream a future for me filled with adventure, new experiences and friends…of travel to far corners of the world. I promised her I would do just that, I’d see the world for the both of us. 

After months of planning, I am so beyond excited to officially announced that starting September 1, I’ll be embarking on a year-long trip around the world. I’m first heading to our neighbor in the north, Canada, for a two-month trip that will take me from the cobblestone streets of Quebec to the breathtaking views of Banff National Park to the coastal seaport city of Vancouver. 

Next I’m planning a road trip down south, where I’m excited to eat my way through Austin, New Orleans and Nashville. I’m hoping to return to the motherland (Chile) by the end of the year to reconnect with family and get to know the country my mom loved so much. 

I hope you’ll join me along this crazy adventure. I’ll be writing about my travels here and will keep everyone posted about where I’ll be. If you have any recommendations for places to visit or if I’ll be in your home city, give me a shout!

xx

Nikki

Leave a comment